Why you should travel young

Before I start this post, allow me to give 100% credit for this post to my awesome younger sister, Maggie, who, having recently graduated college, is now living in South Korea, and has been for over a month. Maggie has started her own blog (following in the footsteps of her awesome older brother). Her blog is called A Lucky Penny and should totally be checked out. She has been doing an excellent job keeping it updated and informing us of her amazing adventure in Asia.

Back to this post. I first read the article Why You Should Travel Young by Jeff Goins a few weeks ago when Maggie posted about it on her blog. Click on the title of the article above or CLICK HERE to read the article. It is fantastic and very well written. Not to mention it certainly drives home the point of how important it is to travel while you can, young or old, even if it doesn’t seem like it makes sense or is the right time. I highly recommend reading the article as it may potentially help put things into perspective.

“You won’t always be young. And life won’t always be just about you. So travel, young person. Experience the world for all it’s worth. Become a person of culture, adventure, and compassion. While you still can.”

Now, with all that being said, I move on to the next chapter of my life. I had an amazing year in Ireland, followed by a busy basketball-filled summer working camps in New York, Maryland, and New Jersey. It was great to catch up with friends and family throughout the course of the summer, including many a memorable nights out. Now I find myself back in Galway, the place I lived and loved for the last year. However, I am only here temporarily as it is a stepping stone both literally and figuratively towards the next place I will be moving, which is France.

Next week I will be heading to Toulouse, France for what will hopefully last approximately a year. I made a great friend in France back when I coached the Titans U-18 girls team in a tournament in Biarritz. This friend, Philippe, has worked all summer to help create opportunities for me to move to Toulouse in order to coach and play ball, as well as work full time in a fitness center. I am extremely grateful to Philippe for orchestrating what I’m sure will prove to be a completely invaluable experience.

I caught the traveling bug. The last year taught me how big a world this is, how much there is to see, and how many people there are to meet. I am also heeding the advice of so many people who have encouraged me to travel while I’m young and travel while I can. Most importantly I have been fortunate enough to have the support of my family as I pursue another great adventure abroad. The most difficult aspect of doing this is certainly leaving my family. However, with their blessing it is both promising and motivating to me as I hope to make them proud and look forward to seeing them again, whether it is on this side of the Atlantic or the other!

In the meantime, I am enjoying myself here in Galway as it has been a pleasant surprise to myself how quickly I was able to return to a place where, when I left in June, I was unsure of when I would get the chance to return. Two months later and here I am. Enjoying catching up with the wonderful people of Galway about how their summers went (it rained a lot here…shocking). It has also been great meeting the newest additions to the Galway family, Gretchen, Andre, and Brendan.
Needless to say, it is all too funny seeing the infamous Joe Coughlan again. The newcomers have had quite a few laughs as they become more familiar with Joe and see what the character he is. I remember all too well my first few days in Galway, riding on the back of Joe’s motorcycle, stopping to talk to every single person in Galway, and then Joe driving the motorcycle right into a parking spot at City Hall that was clearly labeled “Parking for the Mayor of Galway Only.” That’s a completely true story by the way! Nonetheless, Joe is up to his usual antics and it’s great to see that he has not changed. For example, today he felt the need to try and teach Andre how to shoot (I’m not sure if Dre even hit the rim because he was laughing so hard!).
Anyways, I will most certainly enjoy the rest of my week here in Galway as there are plenty of pints to be had! Then I will be embarking on my next great adventure in Toulouse, France. Wish me luck!

3 thoughts on “Why you should travel young

  1. I am so happy I found this post. We seem to have similar outlooks on life. I too believe that everyone should experience different cultures and the people that accompany them. We should not live close-minded lives.

Leave a Reply

