Back to School

“The whole purpose of education is to turn mirrors into windows.”
-Sydney J. Harrist
(Thank you to Amy Hallett Cusack for the quote)

Speaking of Labor Day and the fact that it is now behind us, it is that time of year again. Back to school!!! I know some kids in Ireland started school last week, I always started school after Labor Day, and here in France, today is the first day of school for kids (maybe they secretly celebrated Labor Day here too).

This time of year is an exciting time for teachers and students alike. As much as kids dread going back to school, they secretly love it. As much as teachers complain about how quickly the summer went, they definitely love going back, setting up the classroom, and preparing for that first week of school.

I actually went to school to be a teacher. I did my student teaching at a middle school in the suburbs of Rochester, NY teaching 8th grade history and also at an inner-city school in Rochester teaching 11th and 12th grade history. I’ve substitute taught in a few different schools throughout Rockland, Westchester, and Orange County as well. Teaching is certainly something that I’m passionate about, which I think, is what translates to my passion for coaching basketball and teaching fitness. I enjoy the act of helping people through education – whether it be about the U.S. Constitution, how to shoot a basketball, or how to correctly squat – I love it.

So I figured I would take this opportunity with school going back into session to post a few videos that I posted a while back by Taylor Mali. He is a teacher as well as a poet/comedian. These are my 3 favorite videos of him and figured they would be worth sharing again, especially for anyone who may have not seen them the last time I posted.
-And a quick note, the first video here on “What Teachers Make” was shown at the start of one of my undergraduate courses on education. It gives me goosebumps every time and definitely makes me proud to be a teacher.


Leave a Reply

