Happy Veteran’s Day

This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave.
-Elmer Davis

Happy Veteran’s Day and thank you to all our service men and women who have fought to provide and protect America with the freedom that we have today. And thank you to those who are currently serving and defending our country.

My brother told me a story about how one day he was walking in Scranton, Pennsylvania in his BDUs (Battle Dress Uniforms or fatigues), when he said that a man stopped his car, got out, walked straight over to Mac, shook his hand and said “Thank you.” Those are the kind of stories that I love to hear. People who truly appreciate our military and what they do for us.

One of my very good friends from Ireland, Conall, who is currently studying a PhD in American history in Belfast, sent me a message earlier today. The message was a bit of catching up and recapping the Titans game from the weekend. However, he mentioned something to me about Veteran’s Day which I think rang true. He knows that my brother is in the Army and currently serving in Afghanistan. He knows how important the military and support for the military is to my family. That is why, on this Veteran’s Day he mentioned to me how he thought it’s great that people want to support the military who are serving, but how equally important it is to support those soldiers even after they serve. We cannot be quick to forget someone who has gone out and risked his or her life for our country and once their commitment is finished, forget about them. It is ever so important to continue to support the military and show your gratitude by helping jobless and/or homeless ex-military, those who struggle with ptsd, and so on. I’m not saying we have to do something extravagant, but I think people can always contribute a little something especially to those who have given so much. So please, remember not only those who are serving, but those who have served before. With that, I’ll end with a quote from JFK:
As we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them.

I love you Mac. Be safe brother. Happy Veteran’s Day!

Leave a Reply

