Mardi Gras

So yesterday was “Fat Tuesday” and today is Ash Wednesday, the official start to Lent. Yesterday I saw a lot of people posting about Fat Tuesday, what they would be giving up for Lent, and most importantly, Mardi Gras. Now I had been talking to someone about Mardi Gras about a week or so ago. I mentioned that two years ago at this time I was in New Orleans with my brother and sisters as well as my cousins and it was every bit as crazy as Mardi Gras is made out to be. Which is exactly where there is ABSOLUTELY no need for me to put up any photos from it. Except for maybe the classic “Huge Ass Beers” sign which won’t defame the character of any of us that were there.
IMG_0781Anyways, getting back to the point, the other day when I said “Mardi Gras” for the first time I actually thought about what it meant…..in French, that is. I guarantee that most of you who know about Mardi Gras and all that don’t know what it means. Well, I finally came to the realization, as my French has gotten better, that holy shit, it actually means “Fat Tuesday.” Now a lot of people know that yesterday is Fat Tuesday and it is also the start of Mardi Gras, but if you want to tell me that you knew that Mardi Gras literally translated into Fat Tuesday then I’m calling your bluff. NO WAY you knew that. I dropped that knowledge on my parents last night via Skype. It blew their minds and my parents know everything.

So you’re welcome for the quick French lesson. Mardi means Tuesday. And Gras means Fat. And there are other French phrases that we use when speaking English and it’s like I have an epiphany every few weeks as my French progresses and I realize what that French phrase means that we use so casually. For example, Deja Vu. We always use that term when discussing something that already happened or that we already saw. Well guess what? Deja means “already” and Vu is the past tense of the verb voir meaning “to see.” So deja vu is already saw. Voila!! You’re welcome again. I’m going to stop now because I just blew your mind twice in one post.

So I’ll leave you with one French phrase that everyone knows at this point, but we learned about it from a different source. The French phrase is “Soup du jour.”

Hmmm that sounds good. I’ll have that. That’s right. Dumb and Dumber just came to CoyneToss. Awesome.

Happy Lent everybody!

One thought on “Mardi Gras

  1. Sorry bro but let me drop some knowledge on you…’Now a lot of people know that yesterday is Fat Tuesday and it is also the start of Mardi Gras,’ is an incorrect statement. Fat Tuesday is the culmination of the Mardi Gras/Carnival season which actually began on Twelfth Night/Epiphany/January 6th. Happy Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

