New Rochelle Buzzer Beater

This is absolutely INSANE!!! Not only is this one of the best buzzer beaters I have ever seen, but it took place in a Section 1 high school game in New York. For those of you who don’t know, my high school played in Section 1 so I get to take pride in this play as they are proudly representing for all the schools in Section 1 and I guarantee this will get #1 on Sportscenter tonight. Check it out!

What I love is how immediately after the shot both teams were celebrating. Incredibly tough call by the refs but I think they made the correct one.

Now I need to share two other instances of a shot from that distance. The first one was last night, in my game here in France. We won the game by 2 points against a very good team, but at the end of the 3rd quarter a player on the other team made a shot from the same spot. I didn’t think it was that cool at the time. Probably because it was against us, or maybe because moments before I drove to the basket, got flipped, landed on my face, and at the time of the shot I was still in a daze trying to stop the blood gushing out of my nose and regain sensation in my face. Maybe that had something to do with it.

The other one is probably my craziest experience in the game of basketball. It was my junior year of high school and we were playing a Section 1 game against Irvington in Westchester. We blew them out but they put up a shot as time expired, and my friend Mike Tedesco, who was in the game, casually caught the rebound after time had run out and launched a one handed shot from the opposite foul line and SWISH! It didn’t count because it was after the game but we all went nuts anyway. NOW comes the crazy part. The next day in practice, after about 20 minutes, Coach McFadden brought Tedesco out on the court and said that if he could make the same shot again then practice would be over. Mike calmly stepped up, took the ball, took one dribble, and launched it again from the opposite foul line. BUCKETS! We went bananas! I couldn’t believe it. Unfortunately Coach McFadden didn’t end practice. Nonetheless, it was one of the most impressive things I’ve ever seen.

Leave a Reply

